The recent Query Parameters UI is awesome! However, it’s difficult to use in the dashboard UI, especially when many queries use the same parameters.

The proposal here is to have a way to set query parameters in the dashboards ui and have multiple queries use the same query parameters.

The following is an example of a dashboard that doesn’t need to have multiple places to set Query Parameters and could do with only a Dashboard level query parameter UI.

2 Likes

I agree. The current implementation was a compromise to deliver the feature, but it’s definitely not done and I want to implement “dashboard level parameters”. I’m still thinking about the UX, on how it should be enabled –

• Should we automatically aggregate all parameters from all queries?
  • Allow the user to choose which ones he wants at the dashboard level?
  • Other?

I’m no UI expert, but I would expect that all parameters from all queries would be automatically aggregate because the dashboard is already deep-linkable and by not aggregating all parameters, it may break that feature. Also, similar parameters would be merged into 1 field. Logically this makes sense.

As far as what the best UI experience would be, this may get very bulky very quickly. It may make sense to have default values when creating the dashboard and not allowing the consumer to edit those values.

You can grab some ideas about UX/UI here - https://doc.periscopedata.com/doc/custom-filters

Not really – in Periscope queries are always part of some dashboard. So it makes sense to create parameters at the dashboard level and then reuse them in the query.

In Redash a query has life of its own.

I’m loving the Query Parameters UI. The attached image shows me using a single query with a single parameter and several visualizations. Looks good but the visualization titles and visualization parameters takes up a lot of screen real estate making the dashboard verbose

I have some suggestions on how to improve this: