Hi all,
i’m new here and very excited to begin exploring Redash. My main datasource is an Oracle database 12c. I’m not very experienced with linux so i had choosed Linux Mint 64, ubuntu based with i’m more familiar, and installed Redash, made the update to 1.0.3, and Oracle instant client.
Acessing with sqlplus everything ok, no problems.
Installed the cx_Oracle python package and from that point i’m trying everything, but oracle never become available as datatype source.
Also tryed on .env to add:
export REDASH_ADDITIONAL_QUERY_RUNNERS=redash.query_runner.oracle
and restart the services, with no success either…
Am I missing some documentation? I’m not lazy to read manuals, but i can’t find any more information.
Hopping anyone can help me…
Regrets,
Fayol

Assuming you installed it using our script, run sudo -u redash bin/run ./manage.py shell from /opt/redash/current. In the shell that will open, try running import cx_Oracle.

I assume this will end up with an error, and it should help you understand why Oracle doesn’t show up in the menu.

If this doesn’t end up with an error, then make sure you restarted the web server after changing the .env file.

Hi fayol,

Make sure you have the Instant client basic AND the SDK installed. It needs both packages.
Also, have you properly declared the path? It should be something similar to this:
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib/oracle/12.1/client/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH (make sure to adjust it to your version of the client and your proper path)

Also, in your .env file, in case you have multiple additional runners, they should be separated by a “,”, in my example, I have Python as anoter runner:
export REDASH_ADDITIONAL_QUERY_RUNNERS=redash.query_runner.oracle,redash.query_runner.python

Hope it helps!

Thank you Mat and thank you Arik!

@Arik, of course i used your scripts!

Your assumption is correct. It ended with an error.

import cx_Oracle
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “”, line 1, in