Hello, I’m quite new to Redash and I’ve been trying to find a way to visualize a query, where I use multiple group by’s e.g.

SELECT date, count(players)
FROM inapppurchase
WHERE date = ‘{{ date }}’
GROUP BY date, platform, gameversion, usertype

I would like the visualization to make separate lines for example based on both platform & usertype so lines would be:

• Android guest,
  • Android registered,
  • iOS guest,
  • iOS registered.

I can get it to work on the table, but not in a graph.

I would also like to know how to use parameters with 0, 1 or multiple values? Let’s say as an example I want to keep my query on default showing the sum of all platforms, but I would like to have a parameter where I can tell the query to show

• sum of all platforms (empty parameter)
  • only Android (parameter: Android)
  • both Android and iOS (parameter: Android, iOS)

Are these things possible?
Thank you for your time

Hi @M_Salenius!

Hope I understood your questions correctly :sweat_smile:

Try these solutions (probably you’ll need to combine/modify them to fit your needs, it’s just an example):

1. Modify your query to concat paltform and user type into single field - it should become something like (PostgreSQL syntax):
SELECT date, platform || ' ' || usertype as "series", count(players)
FROM inapppurchase
WHERE date = ‘{{ date }}’
GROUP BY date, 2

Then use “Group By” chart option - select that concatenated value there; it will create series based on unique values from that field.

1. Use parameter with predefined set of values and WHERE clause.

Parameter values:

'*'
'Android'
'Android', 'iOS'

In SQL:

SELECT *
FROM inapppurchase
WHERE 
  {param} = '*' -- TRUE if '*' selected - match all records
  OR platform IN ({param}) -- this will work if other value selected
  -- other WHERE statements
2 Likes