Hello everyone,

I am a complete newbie, so forgive me for stupid questions. We have individual webapp users that generate csv files with data. We need to create a dashboard for each user that reflects and visualizes the data they collected and embed it to their profile pages via iframe on our member-only website. Is it possible to do with redash? The csv file aggregates all data but each data entry has unique user id. I can update this csv file weekly and post it to dropbox for example.

Thank you in advance.

The issue you’ll run into is that Redash doesn’t support locked query parameters. So if a user can see any of the data in the CSV they’ll be able to see all of it. Presumably you want to isolate each user’s data from the others.

Support for this is coming later this year. For now, however, Redash isn’t the right choice.

1 Like

Yes, I do want each user to only see their own data visualization. But how will it work once it is implemented? Each user’s dashboard will have its own secret link (I will need it to be external, so I can embed it via iframe on website, where each user has their own profile).

Imagine you have a dashboard at:

your-redash-instance.com/dashboards/customer_dash

It accepts a parameter called user_id:

your-redash-instance.com/dashboards/customer_dash?p_user_id=bob

If you share this link with Bob, he can easily change the parameter to Mary or Sally.

your-redash-instance.com/dashboards/customer_dash?p_user_id=mary
your-redash-instance.com/dashboards/customer_dash?p_user_id=sally

The goal of the locked parameters is that you can create a secret link that embeds the parameter in a secret fashion. So that:

this

your-redash-instance.com/dashboards/customer_dash?p_user_id=bob

becomes this

your-redash-instance.com/embeds/ae5a4fc288366576e3094

If you send that link to Bob, there’s no way he can guess how to see Mary and Sally’s data.

Make sense?

1 Like