Prevent new connections being added to 'default' group

Is there a way to prevent newly created data sources from being added to the ‘default’ group?

Not that I’m aware of. Why would you do this?

We have to manage what data connections different users can access. So we have created groups, and assigned users / connections to the appropriate groups.

But of course all new users and all new connections go to the ‘default’ group, so we have to remember to remove any new connections from ‘default’ group