New to redash, never used the product before. Looking for some assistance with doing an upgrade on hosted solution. I see the detailed commands in the update guide but that doesn’t help me much as this is my first time working with this product. any help would be greatly appreciated.

Starting Redash upgrade:
Found version: 8.0.0
Current version: 7.0.0+b17535

How did you install Redash v7?

not sure it was in place from the previous sysadmin who is no longer with us

Does it run in Docker?

I asked my developer that uses it and he’s not sure and these were the only notes he had for the upgrade which is what I tried:

service supervisord restart
cd /opt/redash/current/bin
./upgrade
(run restart after upgrade)
yum update
(VM updates)
Create checkpoint on VM before upgrade.
Delete checkpoint after successful install.

I see. So that upgrade path has been deprecated since we use Docker now. The easiest option here is to migrate from your non-Docker instance to a Docker instance of the same version (V7 -> V7) and then upgrade your Docker instance to V8 using the steps shown in our “How To Upgrade” doc.

Can you direct me to that please

I updated my response with a link.

got it, thanks!!

but I don’t see the notes for the to migrate from your non-Docker instance to a Docker instance of the same version (V7 -> V7)

There aren’t official docs for this since the number of possible migration scenarios is near infinity. But it comes up on the forum a lot.

Have a look over this thread. Migration is pretty straightforward:

1. Create a new instance of Redash V7 using docker.
  2. Import your database export from the non-Docker version

You’ll surely need to make other adjustments. But those are the basics.

2 Likes

Starting from the Redash V8 release we’re no longer building the tarball version of a release – only Docker images. This of course doesn’t prevent you from deploying Redash anyway you want, but the bin/upgrade script won’t work with the new releases.